top of page

Dancing in the Athenian Rain

I kindly received a copy of this book from Soul Mate Publishing via Netgalley in return for an honest review.

3 Stars! Hey everyone! Okay this is book had the three major themes that usually equals to my ultimate fantasy land. It has an ancient history time period (The grand days of Athens!), there's time travel and Rooooooh-mance *try thinking of me saying that all spanish-y* While this book was a nice read, it had...some unrealistic parts that left me huffing in dismay. Therefore, as always, i shall explain myself below! (keep to thy scrolling!) Alright, first, plot. Let me do a rendition of that, *plays dramatic music*

The past and future are about to collide, Love unbreaking, throughout time. A girl from the future is sent to a time of war. Days of turmoil, slavery and hate. Days of bitterness, yet warmth resonates. Can a girl find hope when all seeks her death?

Okay, I'll admit that wasn't my best but hey, it's hard! You guys already know she's going to be thrown back in time to ancient Athens! Anyhow, this book, when it began i started cringing because this character is one of those. what i mean by that is that she is one of those characters that embody all insecurities of the world into one. So, I mean, we're all insecured naturally. But this one had A LOT and she was fine with being treated like dirt because she believed that was what 'she deserved'. I get that the author probably did that to make character growth more poignant, i get it but to start a book with so much....negativeness made me go a little cross-eyed. You know the, 'you're fat,' 'nobody will love you.', 'your brother is better.' type of thing. This book in a sense made me very reminiscent of The Wedding Shroud just in ideas mostly. I did find Peleus character fascinating, if not a little too saintly. However, who am I to cramp his awesome style of righteousness? I actually found it cute that they struggled so much with their emotions. One thing that made me blink a few times is the idea that She (main gal) was so okay with this: "The Corinthian fell from my sword and i turn to find Peleus." Okay, ladies of the 21st century, how many of you would be okay with killing someone for the first time and being like, 'yea whatever'? I like to act as though I'm some great warrior or huntress or kick ass wonder-gal but the truth is, if i had to kill...coming from fairly comfortable 21st century. Seeing a dead person caused by me wouldn't go down very well. That being said, i definitely don't think it was a bad read, it was entertaining, sometimes annoying but entertaining. If you like your timetravels then give this a go for sure!

Don't forget to tweet me or find me on goodreads! <3

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page