top of page

Non-Heir (The Black Mage 0.5)


I received this book by following Rachel Carter's author Newsletters and as one of her book reviewers! Everyday passed for the next two years, the little boy's hatred spilled over like a festering sore. It was poison that ate away at him from the inside. This book broke me in a million pieces! There are just moments when you open up a book and it carries you away. This was one of them! This series is one of my special ones. One that makes me smile when i see the cover for it or when i read quotes from it. You get a sizzling and heart-wrenching romance, intrigues, magic and a red-eyed prince that makes you heart leap and pound. Prince Darren has always been one of my book boyfriends, that stud. So when i heard that Rachel Carter was releasing a book of his backstory and his perspective, i futterwackened vigorously with the mad hatter hehe (i really hope you guys get this reference or its gonna be hella awkward!). The moment i started this book i teared up, i kid you not. I was in a state of emotional unrest throughout. I was seething mad, i was broken, I was horrified, i was in pain. Well done Rachel, Dang you made me have crazy feels! WARNING This story has a fair bit of child abuse portrayed graphically! If it's a trigger, i warned you. But ahhh this was so good! In this story we meet Darren as a little munchkin, its possible that i hate his father more than i already did. How that's possible, i'm not sure, because i hated the man with the intensity of a thousand suns. That mannnnnnnnn, he's jsfbfjnewofnLjdamnflk!! *BEEP, BEEP, BEEEEPP* (adds words at your own leisure!) Alsssoooooo, I gotta say, If I didn't Love Ryiah as much as i do, i would ship Darren and Eve! SO MUCH! *whispers* i slightly shipped them in this story...sorry Carter, i love Ryiah i swear! But I am a SUCKER for childhood friends!! however, it broke me so much more that i felt that way because, if you've read the books you know what happens...and when i thought about Eve, i cried and cried until i couldn't breathe. *Sighs* i told you guys i got really emotional! It even made me feel SO sorry for Blayne...i know, its a shock but it helped wee how he became a psychopath *Shudders* hate him too! Overall this book was brilliant and i'm SO glad i got to read this! Also, can we have a moment of silence for the amazing cover?! (Stttaarrrttt now!...okay we're good!) I loved being able to read his connection to the Black mage Marius, i love having seen his initial reaction to Riyah which made me laugh and even the connection to Ella was interesting! Also *sobs* Evvveeee! Ahhh my heart! i just want to cuddle Darren forever but i guess i can leave that to Ryiah...or just mentally imagine i am Ryiah (hehehe loophole!) So my wise last words will be READ IT! but have a box of tissues nearby because IT WILL DESTROY YOU! Stay awesome! -The Book Herald tweet me @thebookherald

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page