top of page

TALON THE BLACK-REVIEW

I was provided a copy of this book with thanks from BooksGoSocial via Netgalley


WHAT A SURPRISE! I don't mean that in a condescending way at all.


It's just that, this book was a rollercoaster and I changed my rating a million times while reading!


"You must remember, it is only through great struggle and strife that we become who we are truly meant to be."


Okay, this book, I have so many things to say, so I shall try to be as succinct as possible and not bore you through reading this review. Let's jump into my interaction of the plot as we commence:


What would you do if destiny comes crash landing into your house?

What if saving a life meant forfeiting your freedom?

If saving a kingdom meant you will never be safe again?

What would you do if myths become reality?

These are the questions that permeated within Claire's thoughts.

Dragons. Elves. The great Arsarlai of old.

The dragon stones have found their protector.

But to protect she will have to forfeit everything, even her very own self.


Now! let's get into this review.


The beginning: Train wreck

The middle: LIFE ITSELF!!!!!

The end: slow and somewhat lackluster.


And yet, I rate this book as 3.5-4 stars!


This book is a fantastic beginning to a tale that I shall follow through the end. Having said that, when I initially began this book, my entire soul writhed with annoyance, the beginning of this book was a 1-star in personal rating.


I hated the cliche, I hated how she was this intelligent, country, bartender girl, who was just cheated on by a greasy and sleazy dude who couldn't help but sleep with Tiffany (why is it always a tiffany?), etc...I rolled my eyes and groaned and for a time put the book away because I honestly felt very bereft for the next few chapters.


When Cyrus appeared, I was still rolling my eyes and painfully trudged on.


HOWEVER!!!! Once the core characters came around, once she began her journey to Dragonwall. OH MY GOSH! YES!! My eyes began to open wide in absolute amazement and awe.


I believe I exclaimed at some point from the excitement and kept reading to the wee hours of the morning. Man, when she walked into the king's hall I was screaming and fist-bumping the air.


At this point, it went from literally a 1 star to 5 stars in my mind. I kid you not.


However, afterward, I began to again wish for the story to progressssss.


With all due respect author, there were one too many perspectives I didn't care for, nor was I invested in. I was like, yup cool, you found your mate, let's move on please, and get back to claire.


Nearing the end, I began to feel annoyed with Claire and her persistent hatred of Talon and Talon's self-hatred. To be fully honest, I have NO idea why this book is called Talon the Black because he barely had anything of note to do in this book. It should have been about Reyr because Reyr was in every single part of this story. So I'm a bit confused as to why the second book has his name...?


I don't know.


All I can say is that this book lost 1-1.5 stars with the ending but I am so, so invested.


The world-building was great, the writing was awesome! the characters were for the most part really well constructed and developed.


Will I read the second one? Love, it's already purchased :P


I'm curious and eager to see where this goes!


Stay awesome my Lovelies,

Emmeline (The Book Herald)

please follow me on Goodreads or my website for more in-depth reviews.






Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page