top of page

Last Stand (The Black Mage #4)


I receive this ARC via the author in return for an unbiased and honest review “Every hero was a villain in the end. War was corrupting us all.” Dear Ms. Carter, I would like to cordially let you know that you have shattered my heart, stomped on my spleen, eviscerated my soul and tap-danced on my feels. As a result, I have realised that I have masochistic tendencies because while I was bitter and in pain I loved every second of it. This book will cease your heart. This book will make you tremble. This book will make you shout in denial. This book will bring you tears. You have thus been aptly warned of the consequences of finishing this awesome series. Ahh what can I say guys…my heart is still in a state of unrest. If I have one way to describe the feelings which permeate through this book it would be: agony. There was so much agony that it made me feel heavy and in pain. Our beloved characters go through so much and it was painful for me to read but Carter executed that story so beautifully. Alright, I’ll stop rambling, let’s get to the synopsis: A wedding is one of the happiest days of a young woman’s life. It is marked by scatter rose petals, Not the ashes war and drops of blood. It is marked by a kiss of love, Not a self-loathing kiss of betrayal. It is marked by the crowd of well-wishers, Not the souls of those who desire to be avenged. A wedding may take place, A girl may become a princess, But this is no happily ever after. Was that too intense? Well hey, this book certainly was intense! Guys this is the conclusion of what was a heck of a beautiful story. I trembled so much at the content of this book in fear to lose precious and beloved characters. All I can say is that this book will meet and go beyond your expectations, you heart, as I have been stressing, will be shattered and you will feel anxiety like never before. But it’ll all be worth it! Without further ado, I salute Rachel Carter for leaving us with a great conclusion to what was an amazing story. Darren I will forever love you- you garnet eyed stud muffin! (also Darren as an almost darkling character is flipping hot…just saying- are you intrigued now? MUAHAHA!) (Don’t forget to also get your hands on the 0.5 Novella so you can experience all the feels!) get it here: http://amzn.to/2j1AiNQ Stay awesome! The Book Herald Twitter- @thebookherald

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page