top of page

Trammel (A Skye Montgomery Novella)


I kindly received a copy of this book from the author in return for an honest review! Rating 3.5 stars. "So many people and none of them actually know a thing that was going on. It was depressing. Or maybe if they knew the things I knew they would ask me to take it all back because it was easier to live in the dark." Let's jump straight into the plot!

Sergeant Skye Montgomery is what you would call, battered and embittered by life. You would be if you saw crime scenes and things that shouldn't be real on a daily basis. See things that are more alive in the realm of fantasy and mythology. The problem is, demons are very real, the problem is... The Barrier is gone. Which means that hiding the paranormal entities such as werewolves, shifters and vampires from the general populace becomes harder. The guardian of the barrier is her only ally, he is a warlock and someone she wishes could die, if only they didn't have a past.

When I was emailed by this author and asked to read this book I was excited, urban fantasy is one of my favourite genres and this one did not disappoint. This book is very well written, yes there was a grammatical error here and there but semantics. However, the way this novella is structure and the subject matter of it is really awesome. I was totally engaged from the moment it began. My only beef, is that the way the story was written, I felt as though I should know what the barrier was or I should know these characters already. So some aspect of that were confusing and unclear. I like these characters! I definitely feel like I'll keep reading this series, I'm curious to see what will happen next! Now the always asked question: Is there a romance? The answer is a yes and no, more like there's the possibility of a romance. Personally I really like our main guy character- Eric. I have the spidey feeling that he didn't actually do the thing she continually blames him. He also seems like he honestly cares about her. Like I said, It was a bit confusing their relationship, kind of unclear, simply because I felt like I was supposed to know something that happened between them beforehand. However, I picked up the little clues along the way. It is definitely worth a read and Jennifer Kenny is an author to watch for the Urban Fantasy genre! Stay Awesome! -The Book Herald Tweet me @thebookherald

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page