top of page

Quanta (The Shadow Ravens #2)

I kindly received this ARC from INscribe Digital via NG in return for an honest review. "I'd been born a Red Helix, but I'd chosen to be a Shadow Raven. A rebel, fighting against Doctor Nagi, his immortal Seligo, and everything they stood for. Usually."

Publication date: October 13th 2015. Rating: 3.5 stars. Confession time! I actually didn't realize that this was book 2 of the shadow ravens series. Book #1 is Cipher (The Shadow Ravens #1) However, jumping straight into book 2 didn't ruin anything for me, the author made it really easy to follow. I would even say this could be read as a standalone but trust me when you finish it, you'll totally backtrack to book #1- I certainly will! I really liked this book, it was very enjoyable, the world- building is awesome too! Let's jump straight into the plot. "If pacing were a sport, I'd definitely be the world champion now. Too bad the whole being prisoner thing knocked me out of running for medals."

Quanta has been imprisoned for as long as she's known. She is one of the most powerful, but also unstable Red Helixs- She's a seer, able to see the timeghosts of the past and the present. She's been used and abused by scientists and nothing, not one thing can surprise her. Until Altair Orpheus. The green Helix- son of a politician and rebel by night. she didn't see him coming but when he does, everything changes. Hope is a fickle thing, especially when your life is on the line at every moment of everyday.

This book was so well written and engaging! I loved it. Quanta is an immensely likable character with gumption and strength on the side. This story is so complex and I can't even begin to start thinking about what it would feel like to live with her gift, i think I'd hate it. But she does not conform, not matter how much pain comes about she fights to protect the cause she so believes. She's also hilarious, so many intense scenes and then she'd say something that would make me burst out laughing. Altair is such a cool character too, he's not dark and brooding, he's had a lot of loss and pain in his life but he doesn't let it define him. He's prepared to give up anything to stop injustice and once he meets Quanta, nothing will be able to stop him. But seriously, I hated Altair's parents soo much , they're awful!! my goodness! I do love his sister though, Cass is amazing, I hope we see much more of her in the next book. This book is just so darned complex! The subservience, the slavery and the near royalties- The seligo. Its crazy! And *shudders* Darren...if ever there was a way to describe it, Quanta nailed it, he's most definitely a "Son of a seabiscuit" . What. A. Creep. yuck, yuck, yuck! So yes, I can't wait for the next book! Stay awesome my lovelies! -The Book Herald tweet me @thebookherald

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page