top of page

Crystallum (Primordial Principles #1)

I kindly received a copy of this book from Booktrope Publishing via NG in return for an honest review Laney McMann brings us another crazy cool story! Rating- 3.5 - 4 stars "Stay calm. Stay hidden. Don't lose your temper. Push the vibrations away. Control your emotions. Don't let anyone know what you can do. And don't expose what you are. Ever."

That Gif is just so perfect! Let's hop straight into the plot

Kadence has a secret, a secret so monstrous and big that she can't live her life as a normal girl. Her father keeps moving her around places, never staying long, reminding her that her temper could be her downfall. Never tell anyone, never let anyone see who you truly are. Control. control. control. But the Devil's children are after her, wanting her to be something she hates. The one night, one glorious night, she tackles the boy who could change her whole world, but he wasn't made to be with her. It's impossible, It's crazy. It's forbidden. But...maybe she can be more than what she was made into. Dare she trust to hope that she can be good in a world that believes her to be evil?

When i first encountered Laney McMann, it was when i read her 'Fireborn' series. I remember being thoroughly impressed, the lady can write a heck of an original plot and spine tingling- clean romance that will leave you with a goofy smile on your face. This one didn't disappoint! I have a thing where i like to tell people straight up the Cons before i move on to the Pros, because i like to end on a good note. SO here it goes- the thing that annoyed me was the aspect of a love triangle, i hate love triangles with the intensity of a thousand suns. HOWEVER, it doesn't drag on for too long, thank God. I was so afraid that this would be another twilight- bella, jacob and edward scenario but it wasn't, again thank god. Next thing, while the world building is freaking fantastic and original, it came with a crap load of confusion. McMann kind of did an overload of info very early on. She created an entirely different race, institution, world, etc... but with that, when it had to be explained, it went on and on forever. I get that it was necessary but a part of me balked at the amount of facts i had to digest on the Primori, Primavera, Nefarius, Alveare,Patriarche, Anamolia, Araneum etc... That's the cons, lets move on to the pros! That world- building! Hot dang McMann, how did you think this up? it's awesome! and very original and brilliant! Great work! I really liked the idea of this! I will admit that I still have a lot of unanswered questions but I'm guessing that's to prolong the anticipation for book 2. I really liked the characters too, my one thing is that Cole kind of came of as a try- hard early on, I kind of felt exasperated with him because i want to shake the arrogance out of him. But the boy grew on me, how can he not? Also, he has a sexy name! seriously! Mr Cole Spires- that rolls off the tongue sooo nicely! Kadence is a cool character, she's strong without being overtly so and understands when she needs help. Her pride doesn't make her act stupid and she's not scared of admitting her feelings or playing coy. Just that in my eyes deserves a medal, coy- characters and I don't mesh. There was a cool Villain, this is going to be weird, but I hope McMann will make him creepier! He didn't seem evil enough! but I like the idea of who he was/ is. "Ducunt Volentem, nolentem trahunt." The fates lead the willing, and drag the unwilling." Looking forward to book 2!

Stay awesome My lovelies!!

Tweet me @thebookherald with your thoughts!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page