top of page

Sing Down the Stars

I received this ARC from Skyscape via NG in return for an honest review "When they came, it wasn't with flying saucers or rockets. They weren't hulking monsters or Roswell Greys. They were more like Jellyfish - bioluminescent blobs of goo that spread out across the sky. The brought the rain... umm, ugh....errr. okay. Let's go straight to the plot: "Since the Great Illusion, anything different was in danger of being called alien. To be touched was to be more than human, but somehow less than human too."

Penelope was born on a night with the stars twinkling within the cosmos, and when she let out her first cry, the stars fell. haunted by the life she took, the very same night she drew her first breath, Penelope is what the people would call touched. She has a power that is never before seen, she is a celestine. Being the fifth daughter of Magnus and Eva Roma, She must hide her abilities at all cost. Never has anyone heard of 5 touched daughters, and so, Penelope sheds her identity everyday and becomes Penn- the baby 'brother' of the family. "I became a ghost in my own body, hiding behind the boy I killed." Penelope must never let her true identity out, even as her father goes missing... Let the show begin.

Okay I really, really wanted to be totally and absolutely blown away by this book, I really did. I was hoping and praying and begging....but it didn't really happen. I liked it, but I wouldn't say its a particular favourite of mine. First, let us have a moment of silence to acknowledge the awesomeness of this cover! To be perfectly honest, that cover was a major incentive of my reading this book. Anyway. This book began pretty slow for me, and really confusing at first. I was, however, fascinated by the concept of the 'Medusae' who hung from the sky while 'humanity' went insane. And so, humanity bounced back but anything that was different, strange or unexplained was seen through superstitious lenses. Therefore, the world is controlled by 'Wardens' who seek out those with strange, uncanny powers. So we meet Penelope who is lamenting the loss of her identity and describing the life at 'the show' it's like a circus but way, way cooler. "It didn't seem fair. He only had to die once; Penelope was murdered every night before The Show. i liked this story, it was intriguing and action filled. However, i didn't love it...I'm a bit bummed because i thought there would be more of 'BOOM' factor to it. But I was actually (and I hate to say this) I was getting bored throughout the book. Another thing is that although Hatton has a fascinating writing style, boy was it confusing! I actually had a hard time visualizing what she was trying to make me see. And the more confused I became, the less enjoyment was gained. so I liked it, but I didn't love it. Have a go at it, it might be more your thing! Stay Awesome my lovelies! -The Book Herald tweet me @thebookherald

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page