top of page

Tower of Thorns (Blackthorn & Grim #2)

I receive this ARC from Pan Macmillan Australia via NG in return for an honest review. Ahhhhhh this book was good!! so freaking good!! 5/5 stars!!!!!!!!! Julier Marrilier you are magic and can do no wrong! How do you write one book after another that i absolutely love time and time again!? You are the reason for my obsession in all things Celtic! I love this book and i think anyone with great tastes in historical fantasy would find this sublime! okay, okay, I'll try to keep my love-fest to a minimum, try. Let's talk about the plot. "...with her gaze on that distant window, she began the nightly ritual. 'Let me tell you a story.'

Blackthorn and Grim are asked by the crown Prince Oran to travel to Cahercorcan. On their way, Blackthorn stumbles on a memory from the past and Grim finds himself at loss. But treachery is brewing in Cahercorcan. Even more when a strange woman falls at the feet of Prince Oran begging for aid. Lady Geileis has a deep and terrible secret and she needs Blackthorn's help. In the Tower of Thorns a monster thrives, but his tears curse the land and its people, Soon Blackthorn and Grim find themselves at the mercy of those they do not trust and learn that sometimes those you love are not to be trusted.

This book was genius! I just...I can't even explain the depth of my feelings for this book. I felt like we got to learn a lot more about Grim in this one. In the first book, we learnt about Saorla, and what happened to her that made her into the Blackthorn we all know and trust. But in this one, we learn about what made Grim into who he is now and bless my female heart if I didn't become utterly besotted with him . I love him. the end. No seriously guys, he is just the most amazing character ever. He isn't described as handsome, but who he is makes him one of the most beautiful male characters ever, he has officially been initiated into my book boyfriend list. (yes, i have a list). Whenever someone said something bad about Grim, I wanted to off that world of them. So prepare yourselves to fall in love! Okay now the story itself, Once upon a time a girl named Lilly fell in love with a young man named Ash. However, the path to true love never did run smooth, Lilly and Ash unleashed a curse upon Bann, It's been 200 years of suffering. It's been 200 years since the curse that still decimates the land. Okay, I have to admit guys, I need Blackthorn to fall in love with Grim, I'm seeing hints! However, its nothing concrete yet! ahhh this needs to happen so bad!! This book was so emotional, so beautiful, so terrifying yet amazing at the same time. I had so many shocks, frustration and emotional upheavals in this book! Dear Ms. Marillier, you have an avid fan for sure! I will read (and i already own) anything you publish! loved it, loved it! Next one please!! -The Book Herald Check me out on Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/TheBookHerald tweet me @thebookherald

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page