top of page

Rise of a Legend

I received this arc from Rapture Books via Ng in return for an honest review. Rating- 4.5 Stars! I am flipping impressed! "The a warrior of epic repute came on the scene and united a broken nation. His name was William Wallace." Ahhhh this book was so good! So, soooooo good! it was so close to being perfect, but I shall discuss that in a moment. Now, lets talk plot!

Eva Mackay is running away, running from all the horrors she has seen, the horrors of losing her husband, the horrors of America. Packing up her bags and her career, she goes back to her birthplace- Scotland. While there, she joins an archaeological site as a historical journalist, researching the most known warrior and historical figure. Eva has always had a deep fascination with William Wallace, So when fate, a necklace and a storm collides and sends he back in time where the man himself saves her from the grasp of the Longshanks, Eva begins to wonder if she didn't simply lose her mind.

I loved, loved, LOOOVVEEDD this book! If you (like me) have an almost unhealthy obsession with time-travel to the Scottish epoch, then you will adore this book! I've never read any books from Amy Jarecki before, but now i certainly am. Just keep writing time- travel novels like this one Amy and you have a fan for sure! Heck I want to check out her earlier books to. Jarecki's writing style is lovely, vivid and engaging. Ahhh, who hasn't watched Braveheart and not fallen in love with the character William Wallace?! Granted, in this one he is no Mel Gibson, but oh man is he initiated in my UBB (ultimate book boyfriend)list. "The devil had to look like Adonis incarnate." The romance at first, to me, felt a bit crazy...because why would you willingly fall for someone you know is meant to die pretty badly? Not a spoiler, if you know your history, you should know Wallace experiences a fairly gruesome end. But I ended up loving it. As a history student in university who is besotted with this era, this was like a wonderful surprise to me. It was so historically rich! You could almost feel and see the war between the Scots and the English. Now, with all this glaring awesomeness, which i pointed out. Why on earth did i take away a 0.5 star? Well, i didn't like the ending, it was a bit of a cliff-hanger. I usually don't like those, but i do look forward to the next book! Now, this is an adult book which means that there is language and sexual situations. Stay awesome! -The Book Herald Check out on goodreads! tweet me @thebookherald

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page