top of page

Learning to Live

I received this book from the author via Netgalley. "The boy who tortured me became the boy who made me feel, the man who helped me live." This was a hard book for me to read. Not because it was bad, but because it was emotionally draining and heart-wrenching. Let start with the plot

Ciera has always known that life was no fairytale, its not some grant legend or heroic adventure. Life is hard, life is grueling and life is unfair. But there is beauty in all of it, if you only know where to look. Bullied and hated, Ciera has only ever looked at the popular crowd from afar, however, when a dismal event makes the most popular guy in school pay attention to her- well, that's not exactly the best thing in the world. Topher is a jerk, a grade A jerk, but sometimes a chance meeting can have a lasting change.

Prepare thyself for some heart shattering moments. In all honesty, this wasn't the most original book i've ever read, it didn't make me comatosed with pain like All the Bright Places did. However, it is worth a read. This is a story of love, redemption, acceptance and change. A story where the truth of life hits you in the chest, yet Joy is found in unlikely places. This is a story of loving every moment of everyday, a shout for not taking people for granted. I really liked it, well done Adams! The writing was wonderful in here and so were the characters. I definitely think that if the darker yet beautiful side of contemporary romances are your kind of books then you'll fancy this one. Oh! i didn't tell you the best part! This is a YA book and not gross in terms of romance. It's sweet, loving and painful (in the best way!) Stay awesome everyone! -The Book Herald Check me out on Goodreads! (help the little people!) tweet me @thebookherald

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page